Select Page



Jonathan M. Holmes, MD

Dr. Jonathan Holmes is Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology and Vision Science at the University of Arizona-Tucson. He previously served as the Joseph E. and Rose Marie Green Professor of Visual Sciences and professor of ophthalmology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine in Rochester, Minnesota.

Dr. Holmes’ clinical practice focuses on the surgical and nonsurgical management of complex strabismus in both children and adults, and in pediatric ophthalmology with a special interest in amblyopia. He has authored or co-authored more than 280 peer-reviewed articles.

Dr. Holmes is currently Co-Chair of the Pediatric Eye Disease Investigator Group, a collaborative network funded by the National Institutes of Health, where he directs multicenter randomized clinical trials and observational studies to evaluate treatments for amblyopia, strabismus and other childhood eye diseases. Dr. Holmes also directs a research program focused on development and evaluation of new patient-reported outcome measures, specifically for strabismus and diplopia in adults and for children across the spectrum of childhood eye conditions.


Joseph F. Rizzo, III, MD

Dr. Joseph Rizzo III is Director of the Neuro-Ophthalmology Service at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Hospital and the Simmons Lessell Professor of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School, where he is Co-director of the Mobility Enhancement and Vision Rehabiitation Center of Excellence. Dr. Rizzo is also a Research Affiliate at the Research Laboratory of Electronics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

In addition to clinical care and teaching responsibilities, he is a physician scientist. His research is dedicated to studying the mechanisms of visual loss, improving diagnostic methods, and developing new treatments for blinding eye diseases. Dr. Rizzo’s clinical research has focused primarily on the study of optic neuritis/multiple sclerosis, ischemic optic neuropathy, pseudotumor cerebri, and giant cell arteritis. He directs a research project to develop a retinal prosthesis to restore vision to the blind.

Dr. Rizzo founded and serves as co-director of the Boston Retinal Implant Project (BRIP), a multi-disciplinary team of physicians, engineers, and biologists committed to the development of medical devices to help blind patients. He founded two companies related to the project: Bionic Eye Technologies and Visus Technology.



Stephen D. McLeod, MD

Dr. Stephen McLeod is Chief Executive Officer for the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Professor and Chair Emeritus in the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco.

Dr. McLeod’s clinical specialty is in refractive surgery, cornea and external disease. His research interests include the study of improved strategies for diagnosis and management of eye infections both in the U.S. and in the developing world, as well as the development of advanced cataract and refractive surgery technology.

Dr. McLeod is former Chair of the Ophthalmic Devices Panel of the Medical Devices Advisory Committee of the Food and Drug Administration and serves on the Council of the American Ophthalmological Society. He has served as a member of the National Advisory Eye Council of the National Institutes of Health, and on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Ophthalmology and the Heed Ophthalmic Foundation. Dr. McLeod is former Editor-in-Chief for the AAO’s flagship peer review journal Ophthalmology.



Amar Agarwal, MS, FRCS, FRCOphth

Dr. Amar Agarwal is Chairman and Managing Director of Dr. Agarwals Eye Hospitals, a group of 115 eye hospitals in India. He is Secretary General of the Indian Intraocular implant and Refractive Society and Past President of the International Society of Refractive surgery.

Dr. Agarwal is an innovator in ophthalmology. He pioneered  Phakonit surgery,   introduced “no anesthesia” cataract surgery, and developed FAVIT, a technique to remove dropped nuclei. He was the first ophthalmologist to do a combined surgery of microphakonit with a 25-gauge vitrectomy in the same patient, the implant a new mirror telescopic IOL (LMI) for patients suffering from AMD, the first in the world to implant a Glued IOL, and the first to use hypersonic vitrectomy with the Vitesse for a case of PC rupture with nuclear fragments. Pre-Descemet’s Endothelial Keratoplasty (PDEK) also was first performed by Dr.Agarwal.

Dr. Agarwal also has designed new surgical instruments, including the Trocar anterior chamber maintainer now used in complicated cases. He also started a new technique of iris suturing called Single pass Four Throw (SFT) pupilloplasty.


Richard S. Hoffman, MD

Dr. Richard Hoffman is a Clinical Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at Casey Eye Institute and managing partner with Drs. Fine, Hoffman & Sims, a private practice in Eugene, Oregon. He has extensive training and experience in complicated cataract surgery, corneal transplantation, and laser and lens-based refractive surgery.

Dr. Hoffman is a Certified Physician Investigator and has been a clinical investigator for multiple FDA clinical trials. His expertise also includes the design of new surgical instruments and techniques for anterior segment surgery.

Dr. Hoffman is a member of the ASCRS Executive Board, and he currently serves as past president for the organization. He has made hundreds of presentations at international and national academic meetings and instructional courses and has won numerous “Best of Session” awards for his presentations. Dr. Hoffman is the author of more than 375 publications in numerous ophthalmic journals and textbooks, His editorial board service includes the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery, Video Journal of Ophthalmology, and Review of Refractive Surgery.